Marlena Applebaum

M.A. in Counseling Psychology

Astrological Counseling

Blog Tags
Chiron (13)   Imago (1)   Saturn retrograde (3)   Neptune (21)   elements (4)   composite chart (2)   Void-of-Course Moon (10)   Pisces (13)   aspects (5)   equinox (3)   poetry (4)   counseling sessions (17)   Grand Cross (6)   Full Moon (24)   spirituality (31)   Mercury (48)   psychology (23)   history (22)   New Moon (23)   Virgo (8)   Leo (10)   Taurus (14)   quincunx (1)   Neptune retrograde (1)   chakras (3)   Nodes of the Moon (7)   Sabian symbols (13)   Ophiuchus (1)   Uranus retrograde (1)   12th house (1)   Aquarius (12)   opposition (3)   eclipse (18)   astrology (37)   Pluto (26)   technical (5)   Mars retrograde (8)   Saturn (18)   Mars (33)   Aries (27)   Scorpio (14)   qualities (3)   mythology (11)   philosophy (2)   Waxing Crescent (1)   Venus/Sun conjunct (1)   Jupiter (29)   Gemini (10)   relationships (10)   square (11)   Uranus (35)   Gibbous Moon (2)   Cancer (12)   Moon phase (26)   inferior conjunction (1)   Uranus/Pluto square (11)   Venus (42)   Sun (25)   Mercury retrograde (44)   Bach flower remedies (2)   progressions (1)   literature (1)   Venus Retrograde (7)   Moon (25)   synastry (5)   religion (6)   trine (7)   solstice (3)   communication (3)   Sagittarius (12)   Jupiter retrograde (3)   healing (4)   Capricorn (13)   astronomy (8)   Carl Jung (3)   zodiac (7)   Mercury's shadow (10)   Balsamic Moon (4)   love (3)   birth chart (30)   events (1)   direct motion (17)   Libra (20)  
Blog Categories
Blog Search
December 3, 2014

An electrifying Grand Trine...



We are currently experiencing an exciting and electrifying Grand Trine (a harmonious, flowing aspect pattern) amongst planets in the three fire signs. The Sun, Mercury, and Venus are in Sagittarius, Jupiter is in Leo, and Uranus is in Aries — with trines happening between Nov 26 and Dec 14, 2014 (see exact dates below). In a few words, the Sun is a symbol of the core self, identify and vitality. Mercury is a symbol of the mind and how we express ourselves. Venus is a symbol of love, beauty, pleasure, and wealth. While these inner archetypes connect harmoniously with Jupiter, there is a sense of optimism, opportunity, and grace. While they connect harmoniously with Uranus, there is the potential for flashes of knowing, radical change, and freedom from limitations that have constrained us in the past. A Grand Trine can bring forth rewards for work already completed. Read more...

September 26, 2014

Grand Fire Trine



During the last week of September and the first week or so of October 2014, there is an inspiring and dynamic configuration of harmony and flow amongst Jupiter in Leo, Uranus in Aries, and Mars in Sagittarius. The trine aspect amongst all three planets suggests they are on very friendly terms with one another, automatically “get” one another, and naturally support each other in their individual efforts and goals. Whichever houses Leo, Aries, and Sagittarius are in, in your chart represent the areas of life where these three planetary archetypes are playing out their roles and happily connecting in a spirited and enthusiastic (fiery) way. Jupiter brings opportunity and expansion, Uranus brings radical shifts and breakthroughs, and Mars brings the energy and drive to bring it all on. When operating in the fire signs these planets suggest a lot of excitement, the propensity for taking bold risks, and the desire for both freedom and passion. If you have planets or points near 15º of any of the fire signs, you will be feeling this grand trine more powerfully. Read more...

February 19, 2012

The qualities: cardinal, fixed, and mutable



Along with the elements (fire, earth, air, and water) the qualities (cardinal, fixed, and mutable) are an important classification in astrology. The cardinal signs (Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn) are the initiators and pioneers with the drive to make something happen. The fixed signs (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius) are the ones who concentrate and focus their energy to build on and sustain what is already there. The mutable signs (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces) are flexible, adaptable, and changeable, depending on the situation. 


Signs of the same element are trine one another, and the trine is usually thought of as an easy, harmonious relationship that just flows. Whereas signs of the same quality are square or opposed one another. The square, for instance, is usually thought of as a more challenging, tense relationship that requires work. However in my experience, signs that are of the same quality, even though they are square or opposed one another, also have an affinity with one another, sharing a significant commonality in way of being and in values. Read more...

November 27, 2011

Venus trine Jupiter (♀△♃)



Today Venus in Capricorn trines Jupiter in Taurus — the two benefics make a harmonious connection. Venus, the archetype of love, and Jupiter, the archetype of opportunity, meet one another for a sweet rendezvous. Jupiter is confident and optimistic, Venus is beautiful and affectionate. Both know how to enjoy life to the fullest, but since they are currently in earth signs, it is a grounded and levelheaded occasion. 

powered by Abstract5